Integrated Care System

BLMK Integrated Care System

In 2017 NHS England outlined a new approach for health care providers to help ensure that services are planned by place rather than around individual institutions.

To do this, local health and care providers have been asked to work together in regional ‘footprints’ to produce a Sustainability and Transformation Plan (STP). The BLMK plan can be found on the BLMK public facing website see  link on the right.

The BLMK Integrated Care System (ICS) was one of the first wave of 10 ICS’s (listed below) – including both devolved health and care systems and those areas previously designated as ‘shadow accountable care systems’. In 2018, these systems serve around one in six people in England.

  1. South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw
  2. Frimley Health and Care
  3. Dorset
  4. Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes
  5. Nottinghamshire
  6. Blackpool and Fylde Coast
  7. West Berkshire
  8. Buckinghamshire
  9. Greater Manchester (devolution deal)
  10. Surrey Heartlands (devolution deal)

Sustainability and Transformation Plans

NHS England have published a short video providing an outline of STPs.

How the NHS works

The Kings Fund have produced a whistle-stop tour video of how the NHS works in 2017 and how it is changing.

BLMK priorities

The key aims involve shaping services to evolve and become sustainable over the next five years to deliver the NHS England’s Five Year Forward View – of delivering improved health and well being, transforming quality of care delivery and making NHS finances sustainable. 5 key priorities have been identified for BLMK, as detailed below:

Our partners

Consisting of eleven local NHS organisations and four local authorities in BLMK are working together to develop the STP for the area, which are linked to five priorities that local partners have identified.

A list of partners can be found here. Partners websites can be found here.